ANOS Vic. Logo

Australasian Native Orchid Society
(Victoria Group) Inc.

Coming Up


18/7/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton.

24/7/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

4/8/17 - August Meeting

Jon Cara's "Papua New Guinea Trip of 2008" presented by George Byrne-Dimos.

5/8/17 - Terrestrial Seed Group

Learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

7/8/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

13/8/17 - Epiphyte Study Group

Hosted by Gabor and Julianna Szep.

13/8/17 - Terrestrial Study Group

Visit to the Enfield area.

15/8/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton.

20/8/17 - Terrestrial Study Group

Visit to North Central Victoria area.

21/8/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

27/8/17 - Terrestrial Study Group

Visit to the Christmas Hills area.

1/9/17 - September Meeting

Speaker and topic to be advised.

ACTIVITIES

ANOS Vic. is an extremely dynamic society with activities to suit members whatever your interest in Australasian orchids.

Members are entitled to participate in any of the special interest groups so join us and participate in any of the following upcoming activities.

Dendrobium King Star

ANOS Victoria Activities

All field trips, particularly those held during Spring and Summer, will be subject to review dependent upon rainfall and fires etc.  Check back at this web site and refer to the monthly Bulletin to keep abreast of any updates as they become available.

JULY 2017

Tue 18 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Mon 24 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 25 - Fri 28 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Trip to Neds Corner in North-West Victoria to search for Rufas.
The dates for this trip are tentative depending upon Trust For Nature conditions.
CANCELLED DUE TO LACK OF GUARANTEED ACCESS TO THE PROPERTY.

AUGUST 2017

Fri 4 Aug 2017 - August Meeting

The presentation this meeting will be Jon Cara's "Papua New Guinea Trip of 2008", presented on his behalf by George Byrne-Dimos.

Sat 5 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Mon 7 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sun 13 Aug 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Gabor and Julianna Szep. The discussion topic for this meeting will growing conditions and the heated orchid house.
NOTE: This meeting is being held on the second Sunday following the monthly meeting.

Sun 13 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to the Enfield area.

Tue 15 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sun 20 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to North Central Victoria.

Mon 21 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sun 27 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to Christmas Hills.

SEPTEMBER 2017

Fri 1 Sep 2017 - September Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 2 Sep 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sat 2 Sep 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The morning meeting will be hosted by Matt Dawkins. The discussion topic for this meeting will be Dendrobium tetragonum. In the afternoon the group will visit Wayne Turville's Australian Orchid Nursery in Tyabb.

Mon 4 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 9 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Disa bracteata removal at Greens Bush, Mornington Peninsula.

Sun 10 Sep 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Caladenia identification workshop.

Sun 17 Sep 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to the Brisbane Ranges.

Mon 18 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 19 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sat 23 - Sun 24 Sep 2017 - Annual Spring Show

Come along and see the wonderful display of Australian native orchids. Orchid sales, orchid related photography and artwork as well as presentations on cultivation, conservation and orchid related activities.

Fri 29 Sep - Sun 1 Oct 2017 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Orchid searches in the Bendigo area.

OCTOBER 2017

Mon 2 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 4 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii site maintenance on the Mornington Penninsula.

Fri 6 Oct 2017 - October Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 7 Oct 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 8 Oct 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Kyle and Elizabeth Matheson. The discussion topic for this meeting to be advised.

Sun 8 Oct - Wed 11 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Endangered orchid search in South-West Victoria.

Sat 14 - Sun 15 Oct 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to Wangaratta and Benalla areas.

Mon 16 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 17 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Fri 20 - Wed 25 Oct 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Rufa trip to the Big Desert.

NOVEMBER 2017

Fri 3 Nov 2017 - November Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 4 - Tue 7 Nov 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Melbourne Cup extended weekend trip to the Grampians.

Sun 5 Nov 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Anne Murphy. The discussion topic for this meeting will be growing Sarcochilus.

Mon 13 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 21 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sat 25 Nov 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to the Rushworth area.

Mon 27 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

DECEMBER 2017

Fri 1 Dec 2017 - December Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 2 Dec 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 3 Dec 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be the Christmas BBQ hosted by Doug Lee. At this meeting we will be drafting the 2018 Epiphyte Study Group program.

Mon 4 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 9 - Sun 10 Dec 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to the Otways.

Sun 10 Dec 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

Field trip to the Otways with Geoff Beilby to see Sarcochilus australis.

Mon 18 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Thu 28 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia search in the Healesville area.

JANUARY 2018

Sat 6 - Sun 7 Jan 2018 - Tuber Bank

Come along and lend a hand with the distribution and packing of the Tuber Bank orders.

Sat 13 - Sun 14 Jan 2018 - Terrestrial Study Group

Cryptostylis trip to Marlo.

Mon 15 - Thu 18 Jan 2018 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to the Moroka area.

FEBRUARY 2018

Fri 2 Feb 2018 - February Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 3 Feb 2018 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 4 Feb 2018 - Epiphyte Study Group

Annual Planning Meeting. Hosts to be advised.

Sun 4 Feb 2018 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

2018 Annual Planning Meeting.

Sat 17 Feb 2018 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to Simpson.

Tue 20 Feb 2018 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.


All orchid related activities and outings are dependent on the orchid flowering time, local events, seasonal conditions and in some cases the availability of a guide.

Event details will be confirmed closer to the date so check this page and the current Bulletin for updates.  All details regarding the event organiser, requirements, meeting places and times will be printed in the Bulletin in the month prior to the activity.