ANOS Vic. Logo
Facebook
Twitter

Australasian Native Orchid Society
(Victoria Group) Inc.

Coming Up


5/7/19 - July Meeting

"A Continental Scale Analysis of Threats to Orchids" presented by Jenna Wraith.

6/7/19 - Terrestrial Seed Group

Learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

7/7/19 - Epiphyte Study Group

Hosted by John & Catriona Young.

8-11/7/19 - Conservation Group

Orchid re-introduction and maintenance, western Victoria.

8/7/19 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

16/7/19 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton.

21/7/19 - Terrestrial Study Group

Visit to Baluk Willam NCR, Belgrave South.

22/7/19 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

27-28/7/19 - Conservation Group

Pterostylis valida search around Malden and Wedderburn.

30/7/19 - Conservation Group

Site maintenance at Inverleigh Spider-orchid site, Inverleigh.

2/8/19 - August Meeting

AGM plus Richard Thomson will present "Growing Australian Terrestrial Orchids".

ACTIVITIES

ANOS Vic. is an extremely dynamic society with activities to suit members whatever your interest in Australasian orchids.

Members are entitled to participate in any of the special interest groups so join us and participate in any of the following upcoming activities.

Dendrobium King Star

ANOS Victoria Activities

All orchid related activities and outings are dependent on the orchid flowering time, local events, seasonal conditions and in some cases the availability of a guide.

All field trips, particularly those held during Spring and Summer, will be subject to review dependent upon rainfall and fires etc.

Event details will be confirmed closer to the date so check this page and the current Bulletin to keep abreast of any updates as they become available.  All details regarding the event organiser, requirements, meeting places and times will be printed in the Bulletin in the month prior to the activity.

For further information contact the appropriate Group Coordinator on our Contacts page.

JULY 2019

Fri 5 Jul 2019 - July Meeting

Our guest speaker will be Jenna Wraith who will be presenting "A Continental Scale Analysis of Threats to Orchids".

Sat 6 Jul 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 7 Jul 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Our hosts this month will be John and Catriona Young and the topic for discussion will be, potting up seedlings from flask - media, watering, fertiliser?.

Mon 8 - Fri 11 Jul 2019 - Conservation Group

Re-introduction planting and site maintenance at Stawell, Edenhope and Dartmoor.

Mon 8 Jul 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 16 Jul 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sun 21 Jul 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to Baluk Willam, Belgrave South.

Mon 22 Jul 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 27 - Sun 28 Jul 2019 - Conservation Group

Pterostylis valida rosette search around Maldon and Nardoo Hills.

Tue 30 Jul 2019 - Conservation Group

NOTE: Date brought forward from Thu 1 Aug 2019
Site maintenance at Inverleigh Common.

AUGUST 2019

Fri 2 Aug 2019 - August Meeting

Annual General Meeting.
Our guest speaker will be Richard Thomson who will be discussing growing terrestrial orchids.

Sat 3 Aug 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 4 Aug 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Mon 5 Aug 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 10 or Sun 11 Aug 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to Mount Cannibal. Cancelled due to severe summer bushfires and lack of follow up rain.

Sun 18 Aug 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to Anglesea.

Tue 20 Aug 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Fri 23 Aug 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 30 & Sat 31 Aug 2019 - Conservation Group

Caladenia filamentosa search around the Bendigo area.

SEPTEMBER 2019

Fri 6 Sep 2019 - September Meeting

Guest speaker and presentation topic to be advised.

Sat 7 Sep 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 8 Sep 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Sun 8 Sep 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to Riddells Creek.

Mon 9 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 14 & Sun 15 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Orchid searches around the Dalyenong area on newly acquired Bush Heritage properties.

Tue 17 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Fri 20 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 21 & Sun 22 Sep 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Weekend trip around the Rosedale and Traralgon areas.

Mon 23 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Search at Wilsons Prom.

Wed 25 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Caladenia pumila search around the Inverleigh area.

Sat 28 & Sun 29 Sep 2019 - Spring Show

ANOS Victoria Annual Spring Show. Native orchid displays, sales, photography, artwork, presentations and demonstrations.
Something for everyone who loves orchids

OCTOBER 2019

Tue 1 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii search on the Mornington Peninsula.

Fri 4 Oct 2019 - October Meeting

Our guest speaker will be Lalita Simpson who will be presenting "Evolution of the orchids through time and space - how biogeography has shaped orchid diversity".

Sat 5 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 6 Oct 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Sun 6 & Mon 7 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Search for habitat suitable for orchid reintroduction around the Ararat area.

Mon 7 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 11 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sun 13 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to Taradale.

Tue 15 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Wed 16 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Prasophyllum fosterii search at Shelford.

Sat 19 or Sun 20 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Day trip to Crib Point.

Mon 21 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 23 - Sat 26 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Rufa trip to the Big Desert.

Fri 25 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 29 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Prasophyllum frenchii search at Clyde.

NOVEMBER 2019

Fri 1 Nov 2019 - November Meeting

Our guest speaker will be Andrew Brown who will be presenting "Western Australia's Superb Sun Orchids".

Sat 2 Nov 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sat 2 - Fri 8 Nov 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Orchid tour of Tasmania.

Sun 3 Nov 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Mon 11 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 15 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 16 Nov 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Date to be confirmed.

Day trip to orchid sites around the Melbourne Suburbs.

Tue 19 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sat 23 & Sun 24 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Orchid search at the Holey Plains State Park fire site.

Mon 25 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 29 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 30 Nov & Sun 1 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to the Gippsland high country.

DECEMBER 2019

Fri 6 Dec 2019 - December Meeting

Guest speaker and presentation topic to be advised.

Sat 7 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 8 Dec 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Sun 8 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to see Sarcochilus australis in the Otways.

Mon 9 Dec 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 21 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Date to be confirmed.

Day trip to Lake Mountain.

Mon 30 Dec 2019 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Search for Caladenia flavovirens around Montrose.

JANUARY 2020

Sun 5 Jan 2020 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip Melbourne's outer east to see Spiranthes.

Sat 11 & Sun 12 Jan 2020 - Tuber Bank

Terrestrial tuber sorting, packing and distribution day.

Sat 18 & Sun 19 Jan 2020 - Terrestrial Study Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Two day trip into Victoria's high country.

FEBRUARY 2020

Sun 2 Feb 2020 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Annual activity planning day.

Fri 7 Feb 2020 - February Meeting

Guest speaker and presentation topic to be advised.

Sat 8 Feb 2020 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 9 Feb 2020 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.