ANOS Vic. Logo

Australasian Native Orchid Society
(Victoria Group) Inc.

Coming Up


27/3/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

2 or 9/4/17 - Terrestrial Study Group

Visit to Langwarrin Flora Reserve.

7/4/17 - April Meeting

Richard Austin will present 'Returning to Lake Mountain'.

8/4/17 - Terrestrial Seed Group

Learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

9/4/17 - Epiphyte Study Group

Hosted Fern Acres Nursery, Kinglake West.

10/4/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

24/4/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton.

26/4/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

5/5/17 - May Meeting

Speaker and topic TBA.

ACTIVITIES

ANOS Vic. is an extremely dynamic society with activities to suit members whatever your interest in Australasian orchids.

Members are entitled to participate in any of the special interest groups so join us and participate in any of the following upcoming activities.

Dendrobium King Star

ANOS Victoria Activities

All field trips, particularly those held during Spring and Summer, will be subject to review dependent upon rainfall and fires etc.  Check back at this web site and refer to the monthly Bulletin to keep abreast of any updates as they become available.

MARCH 2017

Mon 27 Mar 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

APRIL 2017

Sun 2 OR Sun 9 Apr 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Vist to Langwarrin Flora Reserve.
Date to be confirmed depending upon conditions.
Members wishing to be sent notification of the date need to register their interest with Richard Austin.

Fri 7 Apr 2017 - April Meeting

Our guest speaker will be Richard Austin who will be presenting 'Returning to Lake Mountain'.

Sat 8 Apr 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 9 Apr 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Eddie Sabljak at Fern Acres Nursery at Kinglake West. The discussion topic for this meeting will be mounting orchids.

Mon 10 Apr2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 18 Apr2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Wed 26 Apr 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.
Note: This is being held on a Wednesday rather than the usual Monday.

MAY 2017

Fri 5 May 2017 - May Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 6 May 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 7 May 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Stan Harper. The discussion topic for this meeting will be growing Dockrillia.

Sun 7 May 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to Werribee / You Yangs area.

Mon 8 May2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 16 May2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sun 21 May 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to Anglesea area.

Mon 22 May 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

JUNE 2017

Fri 2 Jun 2017 - June Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 3 Jun 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 4 Jun 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Grant Garrett. The discussion topic for this meeting to be advised.

Sat 10 - Mon 12 Jun 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Queens Birthday long weekend trip to Wilsons Prom and Yarram areas.

Tue 13 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 14 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii site maintenance on the Mornington Penninsula.

Tue 20 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sun 25 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Site maintenance at St Helena.

Mon 26 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 28 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Site maintenance at Inverleigh Common.

JULY 2017

Sat 1 Jul 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to The Gurdies.

Sun 2 Jul 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Murray Harding. The discussion topic for this meeting will be Dendrobium speciosum and Australian Cymbidiums.

Mon 3 - Thu 6 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Orchid reintroductions at various sites throughout Victoria.

Fri 7 Jul 2017 - July Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 8 Jul 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Mon 10 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 11 - Fri 14 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Orchid reintroductions at various sites throughout Victoria.

Sat 15 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Site maintenance at Plenty Gorge.

Tue 18 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Mon 24 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 25 - Fri 28 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Trip to Neds Corner in North-West Victoria to search for Rufas.
The dates for this trip are tentative depending upon Trust For Nature conditions.

AUGUST 2017

Fri 4 Aug 2017 - August Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 5 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Mon 7 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sun 13 Aug 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Gabor and Julianna Szep. The discussion topic for this meeting will growing conditions and the heated orchid house.

Sun 13 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to the Enfield area.

Tue 15 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sun 20 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to North Central Victoria.

Mon 21 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sun 27 Aug 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to Christmas Hills.

SEPTEMBER 2017

Fri 1 Sep 2017 - September Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 2 Sep 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sat 2 Sep 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The morning meeting will be hosted by Matt Dawkins. The discussion topic for this meeting will be Dendrobium tetragonum. In the afternoon the group will visit Wayne Turville's Australian Orchid Nursery in Tyabb.

Mon 4 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sun 10 Sep 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Caladenia identification workshop.

Sun 17 Sep 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to the Brisbane Ranges.

Mon 18 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 19 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sat 23 - Sun 24 Sep 2017 - Annual Spring Show

Come along and see the wonderful display of Australian native orchids. Orchid sales, orchid related photography and artwork as well as presentations on cultivation, conservation and orchid related activities.

Fri 29 Sep - Sun 1 Oct 2017 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Orchid searches in the Bendigo area.

OCTOBER 2017

Mon 2 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 4 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii site maintenance on the Mornington Penninsula.

Fri 6 Oct 2017 - October Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 7 Oct 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 8 Oct 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Kyle and Elizabeth Matheson. The discussion topic for this meeting to be advised.

Sun 8 Oct - Wed 11 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Endangered orchid search in South-West Victoria.

Sat 14 - Sun 15 Oct 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to Wangaratta and Benalla areas.

Mon 16 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 17 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Fri 20 - Wed 25 Oct 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Rufa trip to the Big Desert.

NOVEMBER 2017

Fri 3 Nov 2017 - November Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 4 - Tue 7 Nov 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Melbourne Cup extended weekend trip to the Grampians.

Sun 5 Nov 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be hosted by Anne Murphy. The discussion topic for this meeting will be growing Sarcochilus.

Mon 13 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 21 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sat 25 Nov 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to the Rushworth area.

Mon 27 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

DECEMBER 2017

Fri 1 Dec 2017 - December Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 2 Dec 2017 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 3 Dec 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

The meeting will be the Christmas BBQ hosted by Doug Lee. At this meeting we will be drafting the 2018 Epiphyte Study Group program.

Mon 4 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 9 - Sun 10 Dec 2017 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to the Otways.

Sun 10 Dec 2017 - Epiphyte Study Group

Field trip to the Otways with Geoff Beilby to see Sarcochilus australis.

Mon 18 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Thu 28 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia search in the Healesville area.

JANUARY 2018

Sat 6 - Sun 7 Jan 2018 - Tuber Bank

Come along and lend a hand with the distribution and packing of the Tuber Bank orders.

Sat 13 - Sun 14 Jan 2018 - Terrestrial Study Group

Cryptostylis trip to Marlo.

Mon 15 - Thu 18 Jan 2018 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to the Moroka area.

FEBRUARY 2018

Fri 2 Feb 2018 - February Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be advised.

Sat 3 Feb 2018 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 4 Feb 2018 - Epiphyte Study Group

Annual Planning Meeting. Hosts to be advised.

Sun 4 Feb 2018 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

2018 Annual Planning Meeting.

Sat 17 Feb 2018 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day visit to Simpson.

Tue 20 Feb 2018 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.


All orchid related activities and outings are dependent on the orchid flowering time, local events, seasonal conditions and in some cases the availability of a guide.

Event details will be confirmed closer to the date so check this page and the current Bulletin for updates.  All details regarding the event organiser, requirements, meeting places and times will be printed in the Bulletin in the month prior to the activity.