ANOS Vic. Logo
Facebook
Twitter

Australasian Native Orchid Society
(Victoria Group) Inc.

Coming Up


23/8/19 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

30-31/8/19 - Combined Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Caladenia filamentosa & other endangered Caladenias search around Bendigo.

6/9/19 - September Meeting

Dr. Lilanga Balachandra presenting "Soils & Potting Mixes".

7/9/19 - Terrestrial Seed Group

Learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

8/9/19 - Epiphyte Study Group

Hosted by Jesse Granger & Bethany Krasey.

9/9/19 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

14-15/9/19 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Searches around Dalyenong.

17/9/19 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton.

21-22/9/19 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to Rosedale-Longford and Holey Plains areas.

23/9/19 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

25/9/19 - Conservation Group

Caladenia pumila search, Inverleigh.

27-28/9/19 - Conservation Group

Reintroduction site searches, Stawell & Mt Langi Ghiran.

28 & 29/9/19 - ANOS Victoria Spring Show

Orchid displays and sales. Mount Waverley Community Centre. Open to the general public.

3/10/19 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii search, Mornington Peninsula.

4/10/19 - October Meeting

Lalita Simpson will present "Evolution of Orchids Through Time and Space".

ACTIVITIES

ANOS Vic. is an extremely dynamic society with activities to suit members whatever your interest in Australasian orchids.

Members are entitled to participate in any of the special interest groups so join us and participate in any of the following upcoming activities.

Dendrobium King Star

ANOS Victoria Activities

All orchid related activities and outings are dependent on the orchid flowering time, local events, seasonal conditions and in some cases the availability of a guide.

All field trips, particularly those held during Spring and Summer, will be subject to review dependent upon rainfall and fires etc.

Event details will be confirmed closer to the date so check this page and the current Bulletin to keep abreast of any updates as they become available.  All details regarding the event organiser, requirements, meeting places and times will be printed in the Bulletin in the month prior to the activity.

For further information contact the appropriate Group Coordinator on our Contacts page.

AUGUST 2019

Fri 23 Aug 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 30 & Sat 31 Aug 2019 - Combined Conservation and Terrestrial Study Groups

Caladenia filamentosa and other endangered Caladenias search around the Bendigo area.

SEPTEMBER 2019

Fri 6 Sep 2019 - September Meeting

Our guest speaker this month will be Dr. Lilanga Balachandra who will be talking on the subject of "Soils and Potting Mixes".

Sat 7 Sep 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 8 Sep 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Our hosts this month will be Jesse Granger and Bethany Krasey and the discussion topic will be a surprise!

Sun 8 Sep 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

CANCELLED Due to poor orchid emergence. Day trip to Riddells Creek.

Mon 9 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 14 & Sun 15 Sep 2019 - Combined Conservation and Terrestrial Study Groups

Orchid searches around the Dalyenong area on newly acquired Bush Heritage properties.

Tue 17 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Fri 20 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

CANCELLED - Search at Wilsons Prom.

Sat 21 & Sun 22 Sep 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Weekend trip around the Rosedale-Longford and Holey Plains areas.

Mon 23 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 25 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Caladenia pumila search around the Inverleigh area.

Fri 27 & Sat 28 Sep 2019 - Conservation Group

Searching Stawell and Mt. Langi Ghiran areas for suitable orchid reintroduction sites.

Sat 28 & Sun 29 Sep 2019 - Spring Show

ANOS Victoria Annual Spring Show - Mount Waverley Community Centre. Native orchid displays, sales, photography, artwork, presentations and demonstrations.
Something for everyone who loves orchids

OCTOBER 2019

Thu 3 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii search on the Mornington Peninsula.

Fri 4 Oct 2019 - October Meeting

Our guest speaker will be Lalita Simpson who will be presenting "Evolution of orchids through time and space - how biogeography has shaped orchid diversity".

Sat 5 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 6 Oct 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Mon 7 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 11 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sun 13 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to Taradale.

Tue 15 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Wed 16 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Prasophyllum fosterii search at Shelford.

Sun 20 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to Crib Point.

Mon 21 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 23 - Sat 26 Oct 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Rufa trip to the Big Desert.

Fri 25 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 30 or Thu 31 Oct 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris monitoring, Wangaratta.

NOVEMBER 2019

Fri 1 Nov 2019 - November Meeting

Our guest speaker will be Andrew Brown who will be presenting "Western Australia's Superb Sun Orchids".

Sat 2 Nov 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sat 2 - Fri 8 Nov 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Orchid tour of Tasmania.

Sun 3 Nov 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Mon 11 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 15 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 16 Nov 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Date to be confirmed.

Day trip to orchid sites around the Melbourne Suburbs.

Tue 19 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima and Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sat 23 & Sun 24 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Orchid search at the Holey Plains State Park fire site.

Mon 25 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Fri 29 Nov 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 30 Nov & Sun 1 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to the Gippsland high country.

DECEMBER 2019

Fri 6 Dec 2019 - December Meeting

Our guest speaker this month will be Julian Pitcher who will be presenting his orchid documentaries.

Sat 7 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 8 Dec 2019 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.

Sun 8 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip to see Sarcochilus australis in the Otways.

Mon 9 Dec 2019 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 21 Dec 2019 - Terrestrial Study Group
Date to be confirmed.

Day trip to Lake Mountain.

Mon 30 Dec 2019 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Search for Caladenia flavovirens around Montrose.

JANUARY 2020

Sun 5 Jan 2020 - Terrestrial Study Group

Day trip Melbourne's outer east to see Spiranthes.

Sat 11 & Sun 12 Jan 2020 - Tuber Bank

Terrestrial tuber sorting, packing and distribution day.

Sat 18 & Sun 19 Jan 2020 - Terrestrial Study Group
Dates to be confirmed.

Two day trip into Victoria's high country.

FEBRUARY 2020

Sun 2 Feb 2020 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Annual activity planning day.

Fri 7 Feb 2020 - February Meeting

Guest speaker and presentation topic to be advised.

Sat 8 Feb 2020 - Terrestrial Cultivation & Seed Propagation Group

Come along and learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

Sun 9 Feb 2020 - Epiphyte Study Group

Venue and discussion topic to be advised.