ANOS Vic. Logo

Australasian Native Orchid Society
(Victoria Group) Inc.

Coming Up


22-24/4/17 - Terrestrial Study Group

Trip to Miram South & Little Desert.

26/4/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

5/5/17 - May Meeting

Dr Noushka Reiter will present "Pollinators to Propagation"

6/5/17 - Terrestrial Seed Group

Learn the techniques of growing terrestrial orchids from seed.

7/5/17 - Epiphyte Study Group

Hosted George & Fran Byrne-Dimos.

7/5/17 - Terrestrial Study Group

Visit to Werribee / You Yangs areas.

8/5/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

16/5/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance, Laverton.

21/5/17 - Terrestrial Study Group

Visit to the Anglesea area.

22/5/17 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance, Sunshine.

2/6/17 - June Meeting

Speaker and topic TBA.

CONSERVATION GROUP

The Conservation Group is highly active with activities planned throughout the year.  Activities are more loosely organised than the other groups due to the nature of conservation work.  Monitoring normally needs to be carried out at the peak of the flowering season, not necessarily when it is convenient for members.  Likewise weed management should be carried out at the optimum time of year to be most effective.

All members are welcome to join our conservation activities, however some activities are limited to the number we can have on site.  This is to protect the orchids from potential trampling.  Other activities such as searching for rare and endangered orchids usually require as many members as possible to increase our chances of finding them.

Our conservation activities involve monitoring, searching, site management, weed management, translocation and propagation.  Our emphasis is always on managing the orchid sites to help maintain their natural environment.

Our activities are conducted in close association with the relevant management authorities such as the Department of Environment Land Water and Planning (DELWP), Parks Victoria and Local Councils. Working with these authorities helps foster good relationships between Government and volunteers as well as ensuring that we do our best for the orchids.

Many of our projects are funded by government grants.

Leptoceras menzesii

Activities

All field trips, particularly those held during Spring and Summer, will be subject to review dependent upon rainfall and fires etc.  Check back at this web site and refer to the monthly Bulletin to keep abreast of any updates as they become available.

APRIL 2017

Wed 26 Apr 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.
Note: This is being held on a Wednesday rather than the usual Monday.

MAY 2017

Mon 8 May 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 16 May 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Mon 22 May 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

JUNE 2017

Tue 13 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 14 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii site maintenance on the Mornington Penninsula.

Tue 20 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Sun 25 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Site maintenance at St Helena.

Mon 26 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 28 Jun 2017 - Conservation Group

Site maintenance at Inverleigh Common.

JULY 2017

Mon 3 - Thu 6 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Orchid reintroductions at various sites throughout Victoria.

Mon 10 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 11 - Fri 14 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Orchid reintroductions at various sites throughout Victoria.

Sat 15 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Site maintenance at Plenty Gorge.

Tue 18 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Mon 24 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 25 - Fri 28 Jul 2017 - Conservation Group

Trip to Neds Corner in North-West Victoria to search for Rufas.
The dates for this trip are tentative depending upon Trust For Nature conditions.

AUGUST 2017

Mon 7 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 15 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Mon 21 Aug 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

SEPTEMBER 2017

Mon 4 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Sat 9 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Disa bracteata removal at Greens Bush, Mornington Peninsula.

Mon 18 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 19 Sep 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Fri 29 Sep - Sun 1 Oct 2017 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

Orchid searches in the Bendigo area.

OCTOBER 2017

Mon 2 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Wed 4 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia robinsonii site maintenance on the Mornington Penninsula.

Sun 8 Oct - Wed 11 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Endangered orchid search in South-West Victoria.

Mon 16 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 17 Oct 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

NOVEMBER 2017

Mon 13 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Tue 21 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.

Mon 27 Nov 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

DECEMBER 2017

Mon 4 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Mon 18 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima site maintenance at Sunshine.

Thu 28 Dec 2017 - Conservation Group

Caladenia search in the Healesville area.

FEBRUARY 2018

Sun 4 Feb 2018 - Conservation & Terrestrial Study Groups

2018 Annual Planning Meeting.

Tue 20 Feb 2018 - Conservation Group

Diuris fragrantissima & Diuris basaltica site maintenance at Laverton.


All dates and activities are subject to change depending upon local events and seasonal conditions.  Event details will be confirmed closer to the date so check this page and the current Bulletin for updates.  All details regarding the event organiser, requirements, meeting places and times will be printed in the Bulletin in the month prior to the activity.

In the interests of the orchids, some of these activities only require a small number of members.  If you wish to become involved in any of these activities please contact our Conservation Officer.

Richard Thomson

Contact

Conservation Coordinator - Richard Thomson.

If you have any questions about the Conservation Group or wish to find out more about the group's activities, contact Richard.  Alternatively, become a member of ANOS Vic. to receive your copy of the Bulletin which publishes details about these and other upcoming events.

Send E-Mail to Richard Thomson.